Being A Mom

EFI07613EFI07686EFI07747

                  Alice Jane and Adelaide

EFI07757EFI07768EFI07772EFI07775EFI07783EFI07807EFI07833EFI07843

On Mothers Day I always have a self evaluation of my role as a mom. Being a mom is the hardest role I have ever taken on. It’s challenging, the hours are long, and I feel like a failure half of the time. This self evaluation isn’t to measure the difficulty of my role as a mom, but to measure my heart. It can feel so frustrating sometimes when it comes to disciplining, sickness and the million other things moms deal with day to day, but when I evaluate myself I know that no matter how long and difficult my role as a mom is, there’s always more room for patience, love, encouragement and understanding that I can give. This is something I work towards throughout the year, but Mother’s Day always brings the feelings and self examination to the forefront of my mind. It’s hard for that feeling not to be stronger when you are being congratulated as a Mother everywhere, it always makes me stop and think, “Am I being a good mom?”, “Am I doing enough for their spiritual, mental, emotional and physical well being?”, “Am I preparing them in the way that God would want and in a way for them to see His love?” I can’t always answer these questions but they are ideas I take with me for the rest of the year, as a guide to lead me, hopefully, to a more loving and selfless attitude. I love my girls and I love my role as their mother. I’m so thankful for this difficult job of bringing two humans into the world and training them to one day be the kind of person that God wants them to be. It is a difficult, long, tiring job that I am so blessed to have in my lifetime. I’m so thankful for these two and can’t wait to see how they grow. 

Leave a Reply

